Kuhn Rikon Straight Paring Knife Review

* Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associates, we earn commissions from qualifying purchases

$10.5

Score By Feature Based on 13 ratings

Easy to clean 5.0 
Light weight 4.8 
Easy to hold 4.6 
Maneuverability 4.6 
Durability 4.6 
Value for money 4.2 
Pros
  • Very sharp blade.
  • Dishwasher safe.
Cons
  • Handle easily slips in hand.

Kuhn Rikon Straight Paring Knife Product Description

This knife is a great all-purpose bar prep tool for cutting vegetables, peeling apples, and slicing. In addition to its ultra-sharp, hand-ground, long-lasting Japanese stainless steel blade, this product has a non-stick coating that lets food slide off the cutting surface for easier and neater cutting.

  • Knife that is perfect for all food preparation tasks - chops veggies, peels apples, slices cheese and more.
  • Blade is made from highly durable Japanese stainless steel that can last for a lifetime.
  • Food is released from the cutting surface for easier and neater chopping thanks to the non-stick coating.
  • Handle is easy to grip and contours to the hands.
  • With a matching sheath, the tool can be safely stored within kitchen drawers and is great for use outdoors (barbecues, camping, vacations, etc.).

Questions & Answers

From the end of the handle to where it begins, it is 1 inch wide. A second tape down to 3/4 is applied and then the final tape down to the The only thing I know is that this is my favorite knife and I keep three of them on hand Sharp to the point of being painful. You will notice it being sharper in the first week. What a great idea!
Switzerland is the country of origin for Kuhn Rikon knives.
It came with a sheath and I got the blue color.
The non-profit sector There's no work involved here it's just that the edge of the blade is smooth and non-slip The blades are coated with a non-stick coating, so that when you slice, it won't stick to the sides. There is no coating on the blade's sides, but the edge appears to be exposed. If you're using it to cut on nonstick cookware like a Teflon pan, you should not use it.

Selected User Reviews For Kuhn Rikon Straight Paring Knife

It is a cheap imitation of a Chinese product (1/5)

One of the reasons I no longer trust Amazon is due to this circumstance. Authentic Kuhn Rikon knives are what I love in comparison to others I own. These are sharp and stay sharp for a long time. This pairing knife I got is of lesser quality. They are comfortable to hold and feel great in your hands. A glossy handle and cheap sheath give the knife a cheap appearance. My return will be made soon. Despite our best efforts, Amazon has yet again disappointed us. As long as these inexpensive knock offs are sold as authentic, they will continue to do so.


Terry Newton - 20/04/2021
Unable to understand! When I was on vacation, I bought a Kuhn Rikon knife in a different color from a kitchen store (1/5)

My first Knife lasted so long, I bought a second one online. Unlike the first knife, this one's coating started chipping after a couple uses and it no longer seems to be I am perplexed because it is the same knife, yet it is sold by a different retail store. As I had planned to buy other knives in different sizes online, I have put those plans on hold for now because despite finding the perfect knives (dishwasher safe and sharp) I have found a better one. Maybe the product I received wasn't the right one.


Stanley French - 28/05/2021
It doesn't make sense to me (2/5)

The five stars I once gave this three weeks ago have faded, but honestly it is not worth it now. This is the first time I have used it and I like it. A similar brand of knife is one I have and I have used it for two years and it has not failed me. Although I have the packaging I would've returned it if it still had the seal, I now have to live with this knife. I'm not sure if it's a defective item or it's not a Kuhn Rikon knife.


Bear Allen - 12/06/2021
I'm in love with my new paring knife (5/5)

After having this paring knife for about a month now, I can definitely say it is very good. It comes sharpened and holds its edge for a long time. It stays sharp even after a lot of use. In all the times I've used it (*cough* to open a can *cough*), I've only had to hone the edge once. This is a comfortable device You won't accidentally fall off the sheath because it's snug. My paring knife is tucked into my apron (I'm a professional cook, by the way), and I've been caught by a sheath while bending down and the blade cut through my apron. I don't see any problem here. I got a hot pink knife this time because my other coworkers are looking at mine (which is why I got a pink knife this My last one went missing before I bought this one. I had bought one in blue six months ago and that one went missing. A cook in particular has my suspicion, but I have no proof, so I'm letting her Still, I know the thieving cook will agree that this is a great knife.


Maya Avila - 22/03/2021
For a knife that is so good, the paint is so poor (4/5)

Despite being a backpacking knife, I really like this knife! I purchased it to use in the wilderness as a tool. There is no need to stay on the trails for long with this knife(even if you don't have the compact ones), as it is large enough to filet a decent sized fish, and it does that job perfectly! Also, I like it in my home kitchen, and I find that it holds up well. There is paint coming off in places, so I'm giving it 4 stars. Can you tell me where the paint goes? Is there anything left in my stomach?.


Daphne Good - 26/03/2021
You will feel the quality of these cheaply made products (1/5)

Is there a reason why these things are The colors are nice, but it is useless as a cooking The edge of the piece was dull. Several unsuccessful tests in the kitchen later, I returned to the store. I can slice bananas and other soft things for you if you need help. Perhaps this will all be beneficial in the end. I was likewise dissatisfied with the customer service provided by the manufacturer.


Kaleb Quinn - 30/06/2021
It was a great value, and it came with It would be a good investment again after five years (4/5)

It took me a year and a half to use a 4" paring knife. As some of the blade coating began to wear off, I contacted customer support on the Kuhn Rikon website instead of They are sending a replacement photo via email. Though it is thin, the blade is fairly stiff, and didn't feel like it was about to snap. I was surprised to find out that it held an edge much Originally, I intended to use it in my cabin, but then decided to use it at home after putting it through its paces. Zwilling Pro is the brand I use for most of my kitchen knives. The handle is "adequate" for me even though I live in a large house and have large hands. Customer support sent me a new pairing knife for free, so I decided to purchase a Kuhn 6" chef knife for my 8 year old daughter. It's your son. His main chef knife is an 8 1/2", so he has been helping me out a lot with meal prep lately.


Cadence Mercer - 11/02/2021
The fact that the knife came with a sheath was a major factor in my decision in the end (5/5)

I usually just put all my knives in a drawer and that isn't good for them. And finding out that it was nonstick sealed the deal for me. As soon as I heard that, I bought. Although the purple color clashes horribly with most of my kitchen decor, the fact that it is so easy to find did not hurt matters as well. I have been using this knife for almost two years and it is just as sharp and nonstick today as it was when I bought I can plunge its tiny blade into practically anything and it will cut through it. You can have cheese, potatoes, and My blade is clean and I do not have to wipe it off after each cut. I love the size of this shirt. If I'm in the middle of a cooking frenzy, I like to use a smaller knife. To chop chop chop all the wonderful ingredients before cooking is my absolute favorite thing to do. In addition to always washing it by hand in hot soapy water, I clean this knife every day, sometimes just rinsing it off and allowing to dry, and other times just rinsing off and drying. The blade on this knife is super sharp, didn't I mention that? Those who aren't paying attention to the situation and are in the way of it, will get their fingers cut off. Due to its quality and durability, the price of this knife is a real bargain. It's a great purchase that you cannot go wrong with.


Royal Ballard - 24/01/2021