Hawthorne Cocktail Strainer Review

* Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associates, we earn commissions from qualifying purchases

$12.98

Score By Feature Based on 77 ratings

Sturdiness 4.9 
Durability 4.9 
Easy to hold 4.8 
Easy to use 4.7 
Ergonomic 4.7 
Easy to clean 4.6 
Pros
  • For endurance and quality, it's made of high-grade stainless steel.
  • On the rim, a robust stainless steel spring has been riveted.
Cons
  • Bulky and Large.

Questions & Answers

It should fit any two-piece stainless steel boston shaker used by a professional bartender. I'm not sure what the strainer's actual diameter is, but it should fit any stainless steel strainer.
The strainer does not fit, according to what I was able to determine. Approximately 3 1/4" appears to be the minimum diameter that would work.
Although its not sure about the quality of the item, it seems to be reasonably priced. There is nothing more durable than stainless Having been a mixologist for many years.
Yes.

Selected User Reviews For Hawthorne Cocktail Strainer

A strainer made to a very high standard (5/5)

Cocktail making and all things food and drink are my passions. Since I had it 15 years ago, it has gone a long way toward keeping drinks clean. To buy this Hawthorne Cocktail Strainer for a friend without a strainer, I bought it from Top Shelf Bar Supply. In order to ensure that I didn't gift my friend with an inferior product, I took it outside to inspect My first touch of it convinced me I was not going to give The fact that it is well-crafted is really pleasing to me Product made in the U. S. In general, the simpler the product, the harder it is to get it right on the first go. Their guess was right on this one. It feels and strains perfectly and is the perfect weight. A few points to keep in mind, the spring on the strainer is quite tight, so no ice chards can get through it. The majority of people find this ideal, and generally I do too. It is typically not a good idea to have ice chars Even so, there are times when I desire ice chards in certain cocktail recipes. I will be using this one 90% of the time more than my old strainer.


Avalynn Small - 21/02/2021
Can't you pour two at the same time? My classic Oxo strainer is great, but there was something very appealing about the idea of being able to pour two drinks simultaneously, so I borrowed Now that it's been three months, I have not yet figured out how to reliably pour two drinks (3/5)

The strainer must be in the exact center, or one glass will feel quicker than another. If you pour without super fast speed, my cocktail will also drip down the end of the It might be possible for others to do this, but it has eluded me so far. In other words, it's a waste of my time.


Wynter Walker - 24/04/2021
Having to go to bed five times a week is punishment enough (5/5)

Working in the cocktail industry, I can raise my right hand and swear to you that these products are of the highest They were designed from the ground up to solve the problems that other strainers are known to My favorite aspect about the spring is how tight it is. A double strainer is typically used to strain drinks after they have been muddled. Because I use this Hawthorne strainer instead of my fine strainer, I have actually ditched my fine There's no way you can get all the little bits out without this guy. It's a pretty looking cocktail without having to worry about mint getting into your hair or.


Remington Crane - 21/05/2021
'Why did I wait so long?' you ask (5/5)

It would be fun to make a big deal out of shaken margaritas if I'm going to enjoy them every once in awhile. To be more precise, I found the proper glasses, got the fruit reamer, got the jigger, and I was ready by the time I got the strainer, but it didn't all come together until I got the It's a waste of time and money if you're just going to drip and dribble everywhere and plop little ice shards into perfectly salted and frosted glassware? I decided (and I have done so with my gym sneakers too) that not having a good strainer is like wearing your gym sneakers with a ballgown.


Savannah Juarez - 12/06/2021
This is the best Hawthorne strainer (5/5)

I think that this is the best hawthorne strainer I've ever seen. There is a lot of tension in the spring. It's so tight that citrus pulp can barely pass through, let alone the shards of ice $16 is a bit pricey, but it will last a lifetime, so it is well worth the cost. Cleaning is the only drawback to hawthorne strainers, as it is with all other strainers. When I'm done with cocktail night, I just let it soak in hot soapy water for a few minutes, and then I It works fine, though it can be a little hassle at times.


Simone Bennet - 22/01/2021
I find my Koriko shakers to be very loosely fitted (2/5)

As they slid over my Koriko shakers, they got stuck to each other. There isn't anything wrong with it, but you just have to know that you may have to position the strainer by hand rather than relying on the spring to keep As well as feeling cheap, the metal is also cold. A friend and I bought two, tried one, returned the other one unused, and just bought another Oxo that we find to be more effective and well-made.


Zane Fuller - 22/05/2021
This is a great PRO Hawthorne strainer! So I just picked up my second copy, and I've had it for six months now (5/5)

I'm so happy with it that I just ordered a third. Over the years, I have used OXO's, but I find these to be better. The particles are finer and maybe they do a better job of keeping liquids contained. There is a similar design for a higher price, although these are pretty damn good! I am updating As for the strainers I have, I still love using them, but last Friday, there was a scuffle at work and a worker kicked my strainers that were wedged in the bar grill as he was jumping over the bar and bent them pretty far back. My heart sank when I realized that they were ruined, but I was able to bend them back into place and they worked just fine! I just give them a little character now though, Thus that's the story, a great way to make drinks, and one that's also good I see *H.


Colter Fletcher - 02/06/2021
It's a quality product that does its job well (5/5)

The quality is excellent, the material is not cheap, not like the ones you can buy off the shelf You can find boards at Beyond The Bed and other places Take a bath. The shaker is very happy with it, it fits a variety of shaker sizes and is very durable.


Alayna PRITCHARD - 14/05/2021